About the Park
With over 750,000 visitors each year, Pittencrieff Park, or 'The Glen' as it is more commonly known as by local people, is one of Scotland’s most important and popular urban parks.
Throughout November 2015 park visitors should be aware of extensive tree works taking place at various locations throughout the park. For more detailed information please refer to the "Heritage Restoration Project" page.
Well known for its resident peacocks, this 76-acre park is of huge historical and cultural significance to Dunfermline, West Fife and beyond.
The Glen Pavilion within the Park is a lovely Art Deco style building that is a popular wedding venue. Click here to find out more on hiring the Pavilion for weddings, civil partnerships, meetings, conferences or corporate events.
Pittencrieff Park plays host to many events throughout the year including the Bruce Festival and the annual fireworks display that is enjoyed by people of all ages.
History of the Park
The Park was purchased in 1902 by the town’s most famous son, Andrew Carnegie.
The Scottish-born American industrialist and philanthropist gifted it to the people of Dunfermline in a ceremony the following year.
The park has a range of interesting features including:
- a statue of Andrew Carnegie
- Pittencrieff House Museum
- the Glen Pavilion
- formal gardens
- the remains or Malcolm Canmore’s Tower
Named after Andrew Carnegie’s wife, the impressive Louise Carnegie Gates were erected in 1929 at the bottom of the High Street.
Thanks to funding from the Heritage Lottery Fund, with match support from the Carnegie Dunfermline Trust and Fife Council, a £1.6 million transformation is currently underway to return this much-loved green space to its former glory. Restoration and improvement work started in autumn 2012. Click here for more on the restoration project.
A separate £1 million project to build a café extension on to the iconic Glen Pavilion, funded by the Carnegie Dunfermline Trust, was completed in 2012.
Contact Pittencrieff Park Team online