Top

Fife Befriending Service

Fife Council is working with partners in the Voluntary Sector which aims  to reduce loneliness and isolation among vulnerable people living at home in Fife, who are socially isolated because of illness, disability or some difficulties in their life. This project will link to the Integration of Health and Social Care and the growing pressure on both NHS Fife and Social Work Service to manage the growing demand for services for Adults and Older people.

Befriending Service
 

Organisation

Area Covered

Summary of Service

User Service Group

Service Contact

Age Concern Glenrothes

Glenrothes & Surrounding Area

For socially isolated older people (aged 65+)

Lonely & Socially Isolated Older People


Julie Young -juliey@ageconcernglenrothes.org

Fiona Mackay - fiona@ageconcernglenrothes.org

AGE CONCERN GLENROTHES
100 Scott Road
Glenrothes
KY6 1AE

Tel: 01592 756316
 

Castle Befriending Scheme

North East Fife Area (excluding the East Neuk)

For older and elderly people (50+)

Adults MH


Lesley Haycock
lesleyhaycock@castlefurniture.org
befriending@castlefurniture.org


Tel: 07486 691108

Castle Furniture Project (Castle Enterprise Scotland Ltd)
East Burnside
Tom Rodgers Mill
Cupar
Fife KY15 4DQ

 

Crossroads Central Befriending

Fife Central, Levenmouth and North East Fife

Anyone over 16 years in Fife Central, NE Fife and Levenmouth who is suffering the effects of Social Isolation or Loneliness.

Adults & Older People


Paul Wilson
paul@crossroadsg.co.uk

Tel: 01592 630253
 

East Neuk of Fife Befriending Service

East Neuk of Fife - from Kingsbarns to Crail, Cellardyke, Anstruther, Pittenweem, St Monans, Elie, Kilconquhar including Colinsburgh

The befriending service involves matching people 65 years and older, who live alone or have very few or no social visitors,  with a volunteer befriender who will visit on a regular basis.

Older People

Ruby Urlotti - enproject@btinternet.com

Tel: 01333 311837

ENeRGI Befriending Service

North East Fife (Leuchars to St. Andrews and down the coast to the East Neuk) then and including Levenmouth, Methil, Buckhaven.

People with mental health issues and/or substance misuse and their carers- people who are socially isolated and lonely, or at risk of these.

Adults MH &SM


Eileen Cowie -ecowie.energi@btconnect.com

Tel: 07966 791844

energirecovery@btconnect.com

Tel: 01333 730477
 

Fife Carers Centre

Fife Wide

We support adult and older people who are unpaid carers in Fife. Fife Carers Centre Befriending project aims to reduce isolation of unpaid carers. Trained volunteers will be matched with identified carers to develop confidence and help them become more involved in their community, by identifying community resources  for carers to access and supporting them to do so.

Adults and Older People who are unpaid carers

Helen Honore -Helen.Honore@fifecarers.co.uk

Tel: 01592 205 472  

Tel: 07493 482 257

Fife Society for the Blind

Fife Wide

Adults of any age who are living with visual impairment or blindness. For those who prefer companionship of others also living with visual impairment in a group rather than one-to-one setting, Fife Society for the Blind also runs social groups in Cupar, Dunfermline, Glenrothes, Leven, and Kirkcaldy.

Older People with SI

Rosemary Abbott  -rosemary.abbott@fifesociety.com

Tel: 07964 121345

Kingdom Companions

(Fife Voluntary Action)

Fife Wide

Adults, but must not require long-term befriender. Short-term, goal-specific befriending e.g. dealing with bereavement, moved to a new area, help to access community facilities, rebuild confidence after stint in hospital etc.

Adults & Older People


Michaela Lumley - michaela@fifevoluntaryaction.org.uk

Tel: 01592 760720

Janine Stenhouse - janine@fifevoluntaryaction.org.uk

Tel:  01592 645300

Tel: 0800 389 6046
 

LEAD - Scotland

Fife Wide

Adults (16+) and older people who are socially isolated due to factors such as disability and change of circumstance. Time limited to 4-6 months support.

Adults & Older People


Louise Andree - landree@lead.org.uk

Tel: 07950 771875
 

LinkLiving Ltd -  RealLiving Project

West Fife villages, Dalgety Bay, Dunfermline and Inverkeithing

Older people above the age of 65 years.

Older People

 


Amzu Jamal - amzu.jamal@linkliving.org.uk
Tel: 07834 181922
Sylwia Nadolny - sylwia.nadolny@linkliving.org.uk
Tel: 07921 040757
Rosie Brown - rosie.brown@linkliving.org.uk
Tel: 07834 181923

 

Marie Curie

Fife Wide

People and families living with a terminal illness. We offer companionship, practical help, a break for carers and families.  Trained volunteers are matched and can offer up to 3 hours per week.  Volunteers can signpost to other services.

 

Teresa Naylor - teresa.naylor@mariecurie.org

Tel: 07545 422539

 

We have placed cookies on your computer to improve your experience here. If you do not want us to use cookies you can change your settings at any time.