• What's On
  • The Glasgow Boys - A Spirit of Rebellion

The Glasgow Boys - A Spirit of Rebellion

Website:  www.onfife.com

Linked by friendship and a shared desire to rebel against artistic traditions of the late 19th century Scotland, the Glasgow Boys became one of the most significant groups of painters working in Britain during the era. A loose association of around 20 artists, many of them went on to  enjoy acclaim and commerical success, both at home and abroad. 

The exhibtion looks at the evolving style of the Glasgow Boys and their impact on the art world. Included are works from our collection by leading memebrs of the group and many others associated with it, including Arthur Melville, John Lavery, EA Hornel, George Henry, James Guthrie, Joseph Crawhall, EA Walton, Alexander Roche and Thomas Corsan Morton. 

Tagged : Talks, lectures & conferences

Published by: Fife Council

Times & Venues

Location Date Time
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Sunday 20 August 2017 12:00
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Monday 21 August 2017 12:00
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Tuesday 22 August 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Wednesday 23 August 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Thursday 24 August 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Friday 25 August 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Saturday 26 August 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Sunday 27 August 2017 12:00
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Monday 28 August 2017 12:00
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Tuesday 29 August 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Wednesday 30 August 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Thursday 31 August 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Friday 1 September 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Saturday 2 September 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Sunday 3 September 2017 12:00
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Monday 4 September 2017 12:00
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Tuesday 5 September 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Wednesday 6 September 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Thursday 7 September 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Friday 8 September 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Saturday 9 September 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Sunday 10 September 2017 12:00
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Monday 11 September 2017 12:00
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Tuesday 12 September 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Wednesday 13 September 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Thursday 14 September 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Friday 15 September 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Saturday 16 September 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Sunday 17 September 2017 12:00
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Monday 18 September 2017 12:00
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Tuesday 19 September 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Wednesday 20 September 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Thursday 21 September 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Friday 22 September 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Saturday 23 September 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Sunday 24 September 2017 12:00
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Monday 25 September 2017 12:00
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Tuesday 26 September 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Wednesday 27 September 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Thursday 28 September 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Friday 29 September 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Saturday 30 September 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Sunday 1 October 2017 12:00
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Monday 2 October 2017 12:00
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Tuesday 3 October 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Wednesday 4 October 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Thursday 5 October 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Friday 6 October 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Saturday 7 October 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Sunday 8 October 2017 12:00
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Monday 9 October 2017 12:00
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Tuesday 10 October 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Wednesday 11 October 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Thursday 12 October 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Friday 13 October 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Saturday 14 October 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Sunday 15 October 2017 12:00
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Monday 16 October 2017 12:00
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Tuesday 17 October 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Wednesday 18 October 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Thursday 19 October 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Friday 20 October 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Saturday 21 October 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Sunday 22 October 2017 12:00
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Monday 23 October 2017 12:00
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Tuesday 24 October 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Wednesday 25 October 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Thursday 26 October 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Friday 27 October 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Saturday 28 October 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Sunday 29 October 2017 12:00
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Monday 30 October 2017 12:00
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Tuesday 31 October 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Wednesday 1 November 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Thursday 2 November 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Friday 3 November 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Saturday 4 November 2017 9:30
Kirkcaldy Galleries - Library, Museum, Art Gallery & Visitor Centre  |  Sunday 5 November 2017 12:00